Untitled Document
Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

Peter Doukas took the win at this round last season - Peter is hoping to back that up this weekend - Photo By Corey Gibson

R6 Of The Eureka Sprintcar Series heads to Avalon this Saturday
Author : Ian Vale

Round six of the Eureka Garages & Sheds Sprintcar Series heads to Avalon Raceway this Saturday with a top class field of entries looking for glory, the event also doubles as the Fireball Derby just to add that little more prestige to this round of the Series.

After the disappointment of last weekend’s Eureka Series round planned for Redline Raceway being washed out the drivers are ready for a big night of action. A rescheduled date for the Redline Series round is yet to be confirmed.

So who have we in the list of nominations, two past Australian Sprintcar Champions, David Murcott and James McFadden, four Eureka Garages & Sheds Series Champions, the current champ Brett Milburn along with John Vogels, Shaun Dobson and Mike Van Bremen. Between these four drivers they have won ten Eureka Series Championships.

Add in a host of Eureka Series round feature winners that join the list of round winner above, Corey McCullagh, Glen Sutherland, Tim Hutchins, Grant Anderson and Tim Rankin and you have a top class field.

While Rusty Hickman missed out last weekend to try and take the Series points leads back a good showing this weekend will still give him that chance. With the four rounds completed so far Rusty’s results have been impressive, R1 second place, R2 third place and rounds three and four Rusty took out sixth place amongst some of the best competitors in the country at each round.

Last round winner James McFadden took the win at Mt Gambier in his W17 sprintcar, he will be hard to beat but in saying that David Murcott took out the recent Victorian open sprintcar Title to lead home Jamie Veal and James McFadden at Premier Speedway and David also took the win at round two of the Eureka Series at Heartland Raceway recently.

John Vogels makes a welcome return to this season’s action after being forced to miss the opening part of the season due to a shoulder operation in the off season.

Brad Warren is another driver having a late start to his season but Brad will be quickly into stride.

Last season Peter Doukas took the win in this round of the Series to claim his first Eureka Garages & Sheds feature win and also captured the Fireball Derby title on the night.

Five lady drivers will grace Avalon Raceway as well this weekend, Lisa Walker is making the trip over from Adelaide, Kristy Ellis who is hoping for a turn of luck, Jessica Moulden, Rhiannon Burleigh and rookie driver Carly Walsh is also entered.
We have the interstate travellers continuing to support each round of the Eureka Garages and Sheds Series, Tim Hutchins and Scott Reilly looking for a strong finish and good points that will see them firmly into the KTM top ten. Another traveller joining the Series for the second time this season is Lachlan McHugh from Queensland.

The format for this weekend is once again the popular Group Time Trail and heat race format for the forty six drivers nominated.

With a full contingent of the Series regulars nominated, the likes of Brayden Parr Charles Hunter, Dennis Jones, Jake Smith, Jordyn Charge, Luke Walker, Sam Wren Stephen Spark, David Aldersley and Terry Kelly the action is sure to be another top night of racing.

A strong entry list of some of the new drivers for this seasons racing are entered for this event, Terry Rankin, Mark Carlin, Grant Stansfield and Rhys Baxter, these drivers have stepped up from other classes that they were all very successful in and so far have been putting some very good performances at each event in the sprintcar ranks..

So who will be standing on the top step of the podium for round six of the Eureka Garages & Sheds Sprintcar Series at Avalon Raceway is the question? Such a strong line up it will hard to pick an outright favourite!

Don’t Miss this one, Eureka Garages and Sheds Sprintcar Series round six Avalon Raceway this Saturday night the 9th of December. For more information go the Avalon Raceway web site www.avalonraceway.com.au

Eureka Garages and Sheds Series – KTM Top 10:
1st – Jamie Veal - 1450
2nd – Rusty Hickman - 1434
3rd – Glen Sutherland - 1290
4th – Tim Hutchins - 1283
5th – Brett Milburn - 1274
6th – Jacob Smith – 1160
7th – Jye Okeeffe - 1092
8th – Charles Hunter - 907
9th – Jordyn Charge - 880
10th – Peter Doukas - 844

Western Nissan
(End of Series random draw between 11th & 20th place)
11th – Scott Reilly - 819
12th – James McFadden - 778
13th – Brayden Parr - 772
14th – Dennis Jones - 727
15th – Jamie Heyen - 717
16th – Sam Wren - 713
17th – Corey McCullagh - 698
18th – Stephen Spark - 681
19th – Domain Ramsay - 676
20th – Shaun Dobson - 676

For a full list of all the 2017-2018 SRA of Vic Race dates go to www.sravic.com

The Sprintcar Racing Association of Victoria thank the following Eureka Garages and Sheds Sprintcar Series and season sponsors:

Eureka Garages & Sheds www.eurekagarages.com.au
KTM Australia www.ktm.com
Western Nissan www.westernnissan.com.au
Hoosier Tires Australia www.mdmotorsport.com.au
Camden Signage & Building Services www.camdenneon.com.au
Steelpipes Pty Ltd www.steelpipes.com.au
Lumbars Transport www.lumbars.com.au
Eliminator Race Wings www.crossmotorsport.com
Parr Motorsports www.parrmotorsport.com
Avalon Raceway www.avalonraceway.com.au
Corey Gibson Photography www.gibsonphotography.com.au
Sprintcarworld www.sprintcarworld.com.au
Maxam Printing www.maxamprinting.com.au

Our Partners

Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis


    No Nominations
Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

Latest winners

Saturday, April 21, 2018  -Avalon Raceway

Untitled 1