Untitled Document
Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

SRA Open Series R11 Top three - left to right - Grant Anderson Brock Hallett Brett Milburn - Photo courtesy of Corey Gibson Photography

Hallett takes SRA Open Series Win at Avalon Raceway
Author : SRA Media

Brock Hallett took the A Main event win last night at the penultimate round of the 2023-2024 SRA of Victoria Open Series at Avalon Raceway last night after a hard fought battle from Brett Milburn and Grant Anderson on a very constant racetrack.

A very strong field of competitors lined up for the nights action that included eleven different drivers that have tasted victory in the SRA Series over the recent seasons.

Four Time trial groups opened the proceeding that would see Brett Milburn, Jordyn Charge, Brock Hallett and the current Series point leader Bobby Daly all set the fastest times in their qualifying groups before going into their heat races that would see a six inversion in their respective heats.

Brock Hallett was looking the goods when he topped the points table after the qualifying events. The top eight drivers on points would head into the three shootouts
to set the A Main top eight starting grids. Both Bobby Daly and Brett Milburn were on pace to go thru from the Bronze shootout to the Silver and then make it into the Gold where they set the pace once again to both be on the front row for the A main event.

The order was set for the Main event thanks to Eureka Garages & Sheds, Brett Milburn and Bobby Daly were on the front row from Brock Hallett and Grant Anderson, next up were Jordyn Charge who was subbing for the injured Dane Court in the VA15 G&C Forestry machine with Ashley Cook alongside, row four had Matthew Reed and Michael Tancredi, followed by the next six qualifiers, Dennis Jones, Andrew Hughes, Tate Frost, Terry Rankin, Kaidon Brown and Josh Buckingham. The top six driver from the last chance B Main that also transfer to the A Main were Jordan Rae, Brody Appleby, Grant Stansfield, Chris Solomon, Tim Hutchins and Adam King.

Twenty cars rolled around the Avalon Raceway ready to greet the green flag, the green flag was waved but just as quick the red flag was out when Ashley Cook rolled going into turn one that would also see the demise of both Dennis Jones and Tate Frost who were caught up in the carnage.

Take two and once again the race went no further that turn one when Brody Appleby was the next casualty when he too rolled, both Chris Solomon and Jordan Rae would also be out for the restart.

Take three, this time the caution lights came on for Josh Buckingham whose car stopped in turn two, Buckingham was able to refire for the next restart.

The green flag was waved once again and all was good, Milburn lead the field on lap one from Daly, Anderson and Hallett. The field had settled with the running order for the top ten now, Milburn, Daly, Anderson, Hallett, Charge, Tancredi, Reed, Hughes, Rankin and Brown going into one third race distance.

The leaders were now heading into lapped traffic and it was Hallett to start the moves taking both Anderson and then Daly to move into second place behind Milburn.

Half race distance and the caution lights were on when Hutchins came to a stop, back underway for a run to the chequered flag and the order was now Milburn still in command from Hallett, Daly, Anderson, Charge and Tancredi filling the top six places.

The pace of all drivers was very consistent on a racy track with only a few laps to go when the final moves started, both Anderson and Charge demoted Daly back to fifth place while Hallett started to pressure Milburn for the lead, two to go and Hallett made the pass, but Milburn was fighting back. The end result, Milburn had to settled for second place just .533 of a second behind Hallett, Anderson was home in third with Charge taking fourth place. The top four drivers were cover by just under one & half seconds as the chequered flag was waved.

Rounding out the finishers in order were Daly, Tancredi, Reed, Hughes, Stansfield, Rankin, Brown and King.

Heat wins on the night went to Matthew Reed, Josh Buckingham, Kaidon Brown and Michael Tancredi.

Saturday the 16th of March will see the SRA Open Series head to Premier Speedway for the Grand Final of the 2023-2024 season Series. Also, on the card for the night will be round five of the C&H Trucking Pro Sprintcar Series.

SRA Open Sprintcar Series nightly contingency awards:
Avalon Raceway drivers draw: ($50) – V30 Tim Rankin.
D&F Racing products: Hard luck of the night – V55 Parker Scott.
C&H Trucking: Top Points Scorer ($100) – Q5 Brock Hallett.
Steelpipes Australia: 1st competitor not to transfer from B to A-Main ($100) –
VA91 Daniel Scott.
IDIGIT – Winner of the B Main ($200) – V97 Jordan Rae.
Hoosier Tires WAV 100: A Main feature winner, WAV R/Rear Winner ($100):
Q5 Brock Hallett. $100 + $50 for the left rear.

End of Series awards:
Lumbar Transport - End of Series most heat wins – V29 Michael Tancredi and V40 Rusty Hickman (3 Wins each)
G&C Forestry - Most cars passed in the A-Main on the night.
VA88 Grant Stansfield and V48 Adam King (8 cars each)
(End of series award) Most cars passed overall – VA29 Terry Rankin (17 Cars)
Eliminator Race Wings – for the driver that transfers the most from the B Main to the A Main event the most. Overall, VA29 Terry Rankin and VA36 Ashley Cook.
(3 Times each)
(In the event of a tie the driver with the most points in the Series wins)

Camden Signage & Building Services – sponsor of the Series Prize Poole top ten award.
C & H Trucking sponsor in the top ten award.
Eureka Garages & Sheds - Prize Poole.
Award – Top ten random draw at the Presentation Dinner.
G&C Forestry - for drivers finishing between 11th and 20th place in the Series. Random draw at the Presentation Dinner $1000 to the winner.
Parr Motorsports –Drivers Driver award as voted on by the drivers in the Series. (End of Series award)

Camden Signage & Building Services – Series, Top 10:
1st – Bobby Daly - 2666
2nd – Terry Rankin – 2351
3rd – Parker Scott - 2085
4th – Daniel Pestka – 1761
5th – Marcus Green - 1722
6th – Tate Frost – 1693
7th – David Dennison – 1656
8th – Brett Milburn – 1535
9th – David Aldersley – 1511
10th – Jamie Veal – 1475

G&C Forestry (End of Series random draw between 11th & 20th place)
11th – Ash Cook - 1447
12th – Grant Anderson – 1410
13th – Grant Stansfield – 1407
14th – Brock Hallett - 1369
15th – Rusty Hickman – 1302
16th – Cameron Waters – 1261
17th – Christopher Solomon - 1229
18th – Michael Tancredi - 1203
19th – Dane Court – 1168
20th – Tim Hutchins - 1092

The Sprintcar Racing Association of Victoria thank the following SRA Open Sprintcar Series and season partners for their support:

Hoosier Tires Australia www.mdmotorsport.com.au
Camden Signage & Building Services www.camdenneon.com.au
Steelpipes Pty Ltd www.steelpipes.com.au
Lumbars Transport www.lumbars.com.au
Eureka Garages & Sheds www.eurekagarages.com.au
Eliminator Race Wings www.crossmotorsport.com
Parr Motorsports www.parrmotorsport.com
Avalon Raceway www.avalonraceway.com.au
Corey Gibson Photography www.gibsonphotography.com.au
Sprintcarworld www.sprintcarworld.com.au
Maxam Printing www.maxamprinting.com.au
G & C Forestry https://www.facebook.com/gcforestry
D & F Race Products
C & H Trucking

Our Partners

Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis


Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

Latest winners

Saturday, April 13, 2024  -Avalon Raceway Lara

Untitled 1